Scooters are scooters and mopeds are mopeds unless you live in the state of Colorado. In 2009, House Bill HB09-1026 was signed and passed into law resulting in changes for scooters and mopeds. Under this new legislation, scooters and mopeds that were defined as ‘motorized bicycles’ are now ‘low-power scooters’. Mopeds are now a type of scooter under Colorado Revised Statutes.
What is a moped?
The legal definition of a ‘moped’ varies from state to state. Traditionally, mopeds resemble a motorized bicycle, have two pedals, and are low-powered. The term ‘moped’ is said to be derived from the term ‘motor-pedal’.
What is a (moped) low-power scooter in Colorado?
Scooters and mopeds with an ‘engine not exceeding 50cc’ are now both considered low-power scooters in Colorado. Additionally, low-power scooters have no more than three wheels, do not have a manual clutch, are not to exceed 40 mph on a roadway, and must meet headlight, horn, signaling, braking, and taillight requirements.
Low-power scooter (moped) License Requirements
A low-power scooter operator must have a valid driver’s license or minor driver’s license in Colorado. This is not a new requirement from previous statutes. Moped drivers between the ages of sixteen and eighteen face added requirements. Mopeds with engines larger than 50cc are not a low-power scooter and require a motorcycle endorsement.
Low-power scooter (moped) Registration Requirements
Low-power scooters must be registered with the Department of Revenue in Colorado. Registration is $5.75 and is good for three years. The decal must be displayed upon the scooter. Read more at the State of Colorado website. A moped with an engine larger than 50cc is not a low-power scooter and must be registered with the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles as a motorcycle.
Low-power scooter (moped) Insurance Requirements
As of July 1, 2010 low-power scooter operators must have a motor vehicle insurance policy or a certificate of self-insurance in full-force and effect in Colorado.
Low-power scooter (moped) Required Equipment
All moped operators in Colorado must wear eye protection. Moped operators and passengers under eighteen years of age must wear a motorcycle helmet.
Where can low-power scooters (mopeds) legally be ridden in Colorado?
Low-power scooters can be ridden on most roads in Colorado. They are legally allowed to ride on an interstate if bicycles are legally allowed to ride on that interstate in Colorado. Low-power scooters may also ride in bicycle lanes and park on sidewalks. Low-power scooters may not be ridden on sidewalks. Only human-powered vehicles may operate on sidewalks in Colorado.
Colorado moped laws are now fairly clear. Mopeds are now ‘low-power scooters’, require a driver’s license, motor vehicle insurance, have a engine not exceeding 50cc, and cannot exceed 40 mph on roadways. Unlicensed drivers and children are not allowed to operate mopeds or low-power scooters in Colorado.