The Nebraska Department of Education website has information about obtaining a teaching certificate. Nebraska residents and out-of-state residents can apply for a teaching certificate through its website or by filling out a paper application. An application fee is required when submitting the teacher application. The Nebraska Department of Education’s testing requirements differ from other states. Many states require the Praxis I exam, but have different passing scores. To check Nebraska testing requirements visit its education department website or the Educational Testing Service website.
Get fingerprinted at your local law enforcement agency. Applicants who are not Nebraska residents or did not live in Nebraska in the past five years have to submit two sets of fingerprints. An applicant also must submit proof of residency by filling out a form that states his address within the past five years. An applicant is exempt if he previously held a Nebraska teaching certificate.
Send in official transcripts from your college or university to the Nebraska Department of Education certification division. Applicants seeking a teaching certificate in Nebraska must complete a teacher-approved program as required by the Nebraska Department of Education. In addition, the applicant must complete a course in human relations and a course in special education. If applicant did not take either the human relations or special education courses to fulfill the certification requirement, he can meet this requirement by showing employee experience. Applicant must fill out a form and provide a written statement, one page or more, of his teaching experience relating to the course(s) and have his supervisor sign the form.
Take the Praxis I exam, administered by the Educational Testing Service, and pass the basic proficiency tests in reading, writing and math.
Submit a copy of your teaching license if you have previously worked as an educator in another state. Applicants who have taught and hold teaching certificates can apply for reciprocity making them eligible to teach in Nebraska. But applicants are still required to meet the Nebraska Education Department teaching requirements to obtain a teaching certificate.
Tools You Will Need
Transcript(s) from a college or university
Fingerprint cards 2
Human Relations Course
Special Education Course
Proof of residency
If applicant has submitted all application requirements for a Nebraska teaching certificate but did not get fingerprinted they will be eligible for a 1 year conditional certificate until they have submitted their fingerprints for a background check.
If applicant has not the met the Special Education course requirement they will be issued a 1 year provisional certificate or substitute certificate.
If applicant did not meet the Human Relations course requirement they can sign an affidavit that will make them eligible for a two year temporary certificate.