If you find yourself in the cultural district of Tarrant County, be sure to check out these cool places:
Fort Worth Museum of Science and History: Recently undergoing a not-needed facelift, this facility was created by a group of women who felt the children should explore surroundings in a natural process of the world around them, according to research. Located at 1501 Montgomery Street, the museum may be contacted at 817-255-9300. Their website is fortworthmuseum.org and hours are Mon.-Sat. 9-5 and Sunday noon to 5 p.m.
The Amon Carter Museum: Admission is free and collections boast American art, among them Frederic Remington and Charles Russell. The museum, which was initially constructed as just a small memorial structure, has hours of Tues., Wed., Fri., and Sat. 10-5, Thurs., 10-8, and Sun. 12-5. The museum is housed at 3501 Camp Bowie Boulevard.
For more information, call 817-738-1933.
The Kimbell Art Museum: Boasting a cafe that’s popular at lunch with the workday crowd, the Kimbell, at 3333 Camp Bowie Boulevard, may be contacted at 817-332-8451. The international art facility has collections from antiquities to 20th century contemporary art, states their website, kimbellart.org. The Impressionists Master Paintings were featured there in 2008 from the Art Institute of Chicago. The Kimbell will host the annual Park Cities Kimbell Arts Festival Aug. 6-10 in Utah, where it will participate in one of the largest arts events of its kind in the country.
The museum is completely accessible for strollers and is otherwise also kid-friendly. Parking is free and there’s ample space not to mention it’s within walking distance of the Carter.
Arlington Museum of Art: Showcasing Texas contemporary art, this museum exists to investigate art from all regions, heritages, and cultures. Supplying a sophisticated backdrop of dramatic proportions for events such as weddings, the facility’s educational programs foster creativity.
Located at 201 W. Main Street, the phone number is 817-275-4600.
Fort Worth Stockyards Museum: Although it is the smallest, it’s also one of the finest of the tiniest. Open Mon.-Sat. 10-5 and Sundays noon to 5 p.m., it’s houesed in the Livestock Exchange Building in the city’s national historic district. The museum was opened in 1989 after its members devoted their time to restoring its walls, floors, and fixtures at 130 E. Exchange. The stockyards also features historic walking tours, shopping, events, recreations of gun fights, camps, and contests.
The museum may be reached at 817-625-5087.